AN ANGEL WAITS


An angel awaits

 I swear I hear you say my name,

My arms weak from hug less days,

 nothingness fills this place,

silence claws chunks of me away,

mentally stuck on replay,

heart swollen with ache,

Heaven I can taste,

For my angel waits.

 iyabara©2010

I wrote this after seeing a photo in one of Papua New Guinean‘s daily newspaper of a grandmother leaning over her dying grandchild. They had been in a car accident along the Madang -Ramu highway and she was waiting for help that took too long. She ended up calling relatives to drive down from Lae and pick them up. Sadly the dash for the hospital came a bit late as the child died.

TALK TO ME

