Homecoming


The sea breeze whispers as it sweeps by,

The sun tiptoes across the skyline,

Orange streaks shoot out across the sky,

The sea slaps on beach as if to say hi,

Coconut leaves rustle greeting as I walk by,

A red stained smile makes my heart jump in reply,

Tears run down rheumy eyes,

“You came,” he whispers in this beautiful language of mine,

Wonderful shaky old calloused hands reach out,

They hold my hands and trace nose, mouth and eyes,

The scent of sea, wood smoke and freshly cut wood swirl together deliciously,

All around birds, children, insects and people speak,

No jarring noise just blending perfectly,

Sago thatched roofs bring back memories,

Black palm walls achingly familiar,

White coral crunches as I sit,

Small, hard leathery palms touch and squeeze my feet,

And wipe away my tears,

As she whispers softly,

“I knew you would come back to me.”

iyabara©2010

This poem came about one day when I was homesick. I sat for ages yearning to go home.

I yearn for home but there is nothing there for me so I guess town is where I will live and die.

3 comments

  1. This poem is really something…I could really feel everything, all the sensations and emotions, it truly put me right there. Very nice! and a little sad, after your explaination, but so beautifully expressed.

    1. Hello Unsungpoet, and thank you so much for taking the time to read through my blog. Yes in all honesty this is my favourite piece, for obvious reasons.

TALK TO ME

