MY SAY


Cursed from birth
parted of the damned
destined to walk no mans land

born,
to those who can,
who could
but never will

I CHOOSE,
to pick my fate,
to have,
MY SAY,
come what may,

lonliness willing,
the price I pay,
to show my essence,
THE TRUE WAY,

I do not shirk,
what was given me,

but fight,
for the right,
TO STAND BESIDE MY BROTHERS AND
HAVE A SAY

*********

Can you see me, I am here next to your sister, with my sister, around me my nieces play. WE MATTER TOO!!!

9 comments

    1. Yes I do my friend, I do have a right to have a say I know that in my heart but in my village it’s the men who are the people that count; my brothers; my uncles; and my father. I am not a man. 😦

      1. Oh how your situation angers me!! It makes me sad and mad and feel rather hopeless – I can only begin to imagine the turmoil of your emotions living day in and day out with such inequality.

    1. Thank you. Sorry it took so long to reply. This post is more…how do I put this..cuts deeper than the others. I wrote the poem several days before I left my home town after I was told I had no right to have any input in important family issues because I was a woman.

TALK TO ME

